READ ABOUT: “Recent Changes to Maine Landlord/Tenant Laws”

By Rudman Winchell Attorney

By Rudman Winchell Attorney Mikaela S. Wentworth

In September 2011, a number of new Maine laws went into effect concerning the rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants. Among these changes are the enactment of 14 MRSA § 6030-E, which requires certain residential landlords to provide tenants and potential tenants with a smoking policy disclosure, and 14 MRSA §6001, sub-§1-B, which allows landlords and tenants to terminate a tenancy in the absence of termination language in the lease.

1. Smoking Policy Disclosure.

The smoking policy disclosure requirement is limited to premises that will be used as a primary residence and thus appears to exclude vacation rentals. Pursuant to § 6030-E, the disclosure shall address whether and where smoking is permitted on the premises. The disclosure may be provided in a written lease agreement or, in the case of a tenancy at will, in a separate written notice. The landlord must obtain written acknowledgment of notification of the smoking policy prior to entering into a lease or accepting a deposit from the tenant or potential tenant. A landlord’s failure to provide a smoking policy disclosure or the violation of a smoking policy by another tenant does not give rise to a private cause of action against the landlord.

2. Lease Without Termination Language.

Prior to the enactment of §6001, sub-§1-B, if a residential lease did not specify that the landlord could evict the tenant for a material breach of the lease, such as nonpayment of rent, the landlord’s only remedy for such a breach was to sue the tenant for damages. As a result of §6001, sub-§1-B, a landlord in this situation may now terminate the tenancy in accordance with 14 MRSA §6002, which governs tenancies at will. Among other things, §6002 allows for the termination of a tenancy upon 7 days’ written notice where the tenant is 7 days or more in arrears in the payment of rent. In addition, §6001, sub-§1-B, now allows a tenant to terminate a tenancy upon 7 days’ written notice where the landlord has substantially breached the lease.

To read these new laws in their entireties, visit the Maine legislature’s website at and


These materials have been prepared by Rudman Winchell for educational purposes only. They should not be considered legal advice. The transmission of this information to you is not intended to create a lawyer-client relationship. Readers should not act upon this information without seeking professional counsel. You should not send any confidential or private information to Rudman Winchell until a formal attorney-client relationship has been established, in writing.